ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia: Class of 2019 Selected Four Faculty For Exceptional Teaching

The Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health Class of 2019 selected four faculty for teaching awards.

Dr. Yuna Lee, associate professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management, received the inaugural Judson Wolfe Excellence in Teaching Award “for her remarkable contributions to exceptional classroom learning.” One student cited her ability “to create an enriching, diverse and unforgettable learning experience.” Established this year, the award honors the late Mr. Judson Wolfe, son of board member Ms. Jody Wolfe and grandson of Ms. Phyllis Mailman.

Dr. Michael Sparer, chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management, was presented with the Core Teaching Award for his dedication to instructional excellence, including a rare ability to captivate audiences.

Dr. John Santelli, professor of population and family health, received the Excellence in ISP and Leadership Award for his passion and dedication to student learning, including his aptitude for combining extraordinary experience and knowledge with approachability and warmth.

Dr. Sharon Schwartz, professor in Department of Epidemiology, was honored with the Innovation in Teaching Award “for her unwavering commitment to transforming learning.” One student wrote: “She has created an experiential learning environment where each class is a new adventure in learning.”