ASPPH logo


Partner News

Partner News

CEPH Gains New Practice, Academic, and Public Representatives on Board of Councilors

The Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) is pleased to announce the selection of new members to its Board and its election of new officers for 2017.

The American Public Health Association (APHA) has appointed Dr. Harry T. Kwon as a public health practitioner representative and the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) has appointed Dr. Phillip L. Williams as an academic representative on CEPH’s Board of Councilors. Jointly, APHA and ASPPH have appointed Dr. Hitesh Kapadia as a public representative on CEPH’s Board of Councilors. As a public member of CEPH’s Board of Councilors, Dr. Kapadia is charged with representing the public at large and may not be a public health professional or affiliated with an institution that offers public health training.

“CEPH is fortunate to gain two new Councilors with extensive experience in public health practice and education and a new public member with notable health care experience,” said executive director, Ms. Laura Rasar King. “We look forward to their contributions as we begin an exciting year with the newly adopted 2016 Accreditation Criteria.”

Dr. Kwon is the director of the Division of Research Education in the Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Dr. Kwon directs the division that oversees the agency’s research education, training, and career development award programs. Prior to AHRQ, Dr. Kwon served as a health scientist in the Office of Communications and Public Liaison at the National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health. He currently serves as the vice chair of the Education Board of the American Public Health Association and is a member on the US Department of Health and Human Services Workgroup on Asian, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Issues. Dr. Kwon received an MPH in health promotion from the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego State University and a PhD in public and community health from the University of Maryland, College Park.

Dr. Kwon has been appointed for a three-year term that extends through 2019.

Dr. Williams is the founding dean of the College of Public Health at the University of Georgia. He also holds the Georgia Power Professorship of Environmental Health Science in the College’s department of environmental health science. He has over 35 years of experience as a toxicologist and has authored over 100 publications including three textbooks on toxicology. Prior to his arrival at UGA in 1993, he worked as an Industrial Hygienist with the USDOL/OSHA, a Senior Research Scientist with the Georgia Tech Research Institute and a Vice President in the Environmental Health and Safety Division of A. T. Kearney, a large consulting firm. Dr. Williams currently serves on a number of boards including: the State of Georgia Board of Public Health as chair; the State of Georgia Governor’s Council on Childhood Obesity and the Board of Scientific Counselors for the CDC’s National Center for Environmental Health/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. He received his PhD in Toxicology from The Georgia Institute of Technology.

Dr. Williams was appointed for a term that extends through the end of 2017.

Dr. Kapadia has been in his current position at Seattle Children’s Hospital in the Craniofacial Center as a Craniofacial Orthodontist since 2010. He is part of a multi-disciplinary team that cares for children with craniofacial conditions. In addition to direct patient care at Seattle Children’s Hospital, he is active in the clinical education of residents and fellows in multiple disciplines. He is also engaged in research, including an NIH-funded clinical trial with Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles. Prior to Seattle Children’s Hospital, Dr. Kapadia was a member of the faculty at Baylor College of Dentistry in the Department of Biomedical Sciences. Dr. Kapadia received his DDS at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston in 1996 and consequently completed a dual training program involving clinical residency training in orthodontics and a PhD program with emphases in human and molecular genetics and genes and development. Dr. Kapadia is active in the American Cleft Palate Association where he served on the Commission on Approval of Teams from 2013-2016. CAT is a semi-autonomous body to approve teams according to peer reviewed and approved standards.

Dr. Kapadia has been appointed for a term that extends through the end of 2017.

The Board of Councilors also elected its officers, who serve as CEPH’s Executive Committee, for 2017. The officers include president Dr. Rose Marie Martinez, vice president Dr. Nanette Lee Reynolds, secretary Dr. Iman Hakim, and treasurer Ms. Ruth Gaare-Bernheim. Executive committee members serve one-year terms but are eligible for re-election.