ASPPH logo


Partner News

Partner News

CEPH Fall 2015 Accreditation Update

The Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) acted to initially accredit two programs and one school at its fall 2015 decision-making meeting.

The Loyola University of Chicago Public Health Program, the Louisiana State University- Shreveport/Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport MPH Program and the Kent State University College of Public Health each received five-year accreditation terms, extending through December 31, 2020.

To earn and maintain accreditation, schools and programs must meet specific educational quality

standards defined by CEPH. These standards relate to the school or program’s

  1. organization,
  2. instructional programs,
  3. creation, application and advancement of knowledge, and
  4. faculty, staff and students.

For purposes of CEPH accreditation, excellence in education relates directly to proficiency in practice. Public health schools and programs focus on the preparation of individuals who will serve as practitioners, researchers and teachers who are competent to carry out broad public health functions in local, state, national and international settings.

“The accreditation process requires commitment from administrators, faculty, staff, students and other constituents,” said Laura Rasar King, executive director of CEPH. “The Council recognizes the efforts of these programs and this school to make ongoing improvements to ensure that students receive a high-quality education that advances them toward their career goals.”

In addition to these initial accreditation decisions, the Council re-accredited seven schools of public health and five public health programs for seven-year accreditation terms. The Council also accepted applications from three public health programs and four standalone baccalaureate programs.

The CEPH website includes a  complete list of accredited schools and programs as well as information about accepted applicants.

CEPH currently accredits 57 schools and 110 programs. In addition to the United States, accredited schools and programs are located in Canada, Mexico, Lebanon, and the West Indies.