ASPPH logo




ASPPH 2018 Welch-Rose Award Winner Announced for Distinguished Service to Academic Public Health

The Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health announces the recipient of the 2018 Welch-Rose Award for Distinguished Service to Academic Public Health, Dr. Richard Riegelman, professor of epidemiology and biostatistics, and Founding Dean at George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health.

The ASPPH Welch-Rose Award for Distinguished Service to Academic Public Health is awarded annually to an individual for extraordinary contributions to the academic public health community. The Welch-Rose Award recognizes the highest standards in academic public health and honors individuals who have made a lasting impact on academic public health. The award also honors Drs. Wickliffe Rose and William Henry Welch whose seminal 1915 report continues to serve as a central reference point for the design of academic public health.

Trained in medicine and public health, Dr. Riegelman has enjoyed a distinguished career as a clinician, an epidemiologist and an educator with over 70 peer-reviewed publications and seven textbooks to his credit. In 1997 he was selected as the founding dean of the George Washington School of Public Health and Health Services, which brought together scholars and professionals from the various disciplines of public health and health services research under one umbrella. During his tenure, the school expanded degree offerings and launched several centers and institutes including a world-renowned center on health law and policy, appropriate and necessary given the school’s location in the nation’s capital. Past ASPPH Chair of the Board, Dean John Finnegan said, “In my career lifetime, I don’t believe I have had the pleasure of working with anyone who, through sheer force of will and an incredibly generous and winning personality, has transformed our field the way Dr. Riegelman has.”

Dr. Riegelman will be recognized at the luncheon during the 2018 ASPPH Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon on Thursday, March 8.