ASPPH logo




2018 ASPPH Award Winners Announced

The Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health announces our 2018 recipients of the ASPPH Faculty Awards. These distinguished award recipients are being recognized for their service and achievements in teaching, research, practice, and student services. The 2018 awards program received many worthy nominations. Thank you to all the individual nominators and review committee members and congratulations to this year’s winners.

ASPPH Award winners will be recognized on Thursday, March 8 at the awards reception during the ASPPH Annual Meeting.

ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award

Dr. Fox is an award-winning educator at BU, winning numerous excellence in teaching awards at BUSPH in multiple courses. He regularly teaches advanced epidemiology methods courses abroad including courses at the Berlin School of Public Health, the Copenhagen School of Public Health and at the University of Stellenbosch in Stellenbosch, South Africa. BU associate dean for education Dr. Lisa Sullivan commented, “What is most remarkable, is not just the breadth of this teaching, as much as the innovation he brings to his teaching. He goes far and beyond the call of duty to make difficult material accessible making his work universally appreciated and valued by students to know that the material is hard, but feel that they are being taught by someone who cares to bridge the gap between knowing and those who enter not knowing, until they also know.”

ASPPH Academic Public Health Practice Excellence Award

Dr. Troisi’s work in practice-based research and teaching is exemplary, and she has served in the past in senior leadership in a large, urban public health department with which she continues to collaborate. A colleague remarked, “Her courses bring real-world experience into the classroom, and her wide network of public health practitioners come into the classroom and provide learning opportunities in the field for her students.

ASPPH Early Career Public Health Research Award

Dr. Wackowski has established herself as an exceptional health behavioral scientist with expertise in tobacco control focusing on product trends, risk perceptions and communication, work that is critical to developing the field of regulatory science as it relates to FDA’s authority over tobacco product regulation. Dr. Cristine Delnevo, vice dean at Rutgers, described Dr. Wackowski as, “a bright young scientist with creative ideas and outstanding research skills and work ethic.”

ASPPH Early Career Public Health Teaching Award

Dr. Evans was appointed to the faculty in the Department of Global Health in 2011 after completing doctoral studies in law and human rights. Dr. Evans became the director of the Southeastern Institute for Training and Evaluation and served as the Program Coordinator for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) University, arranging and sometimes teaching a series of continuing education courses to build workforce capacity in public health practice and delivery. In his recommendation letter, Dean James Curran said, “I would like to loudly sing her praises through this ASPPH award for teaching. She is a premier teacher in public health promotion and human rights and their application to practice among the most vulnerable populations in domestic and global settings.

ASPPH Student Services Excellence Award

Ms. Schneider has served as the director of the Texas A&M Office of Student Affairs for two years and after previously serving as the associate director. “Erin’s passion for our students knows no bounds,” says her nominator. “She works tirelessly to improve student services at every level of possible interaction—from pre-applicants considering the A&M School of Public Health, through application, selection, matriculation, graduation, and post-graduation experiences.”