ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Arkansas Dean Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award for Diversity and Inclusion

On September 6, Dr. James M. Raczynski, Dean of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health (COPH), received the Lifetime Achievement award at the 2017 UAMS Center for Diversity Affairs’ annual State of Diversity and Inclusion ceremony.

[Photo: Dr. James M. Raczynski]

Dean Raczynski has been a devoted leader committed to equity, diversity and inclusion since the COPH was established in 2001. His leadership has brought multiple federal grants that aim to prevent diseases, promote health and improve quality of life. A major focal point of these monies has been on health promotion and disease prevention in the Arkansas Delta region, which is predominantly rural and African-American, and on primary prevention of chronic diseases and racial and ethnic health disparities.

Dean Raczynski has created a culture during his tenure at the COPH that consistently has had higher rates of underrepresented minority faculty and students than any other UAMS college. He has helped create a diverse public health workforce able to address the state’s health issues, particularly those related to health disparities. Ultimately, these efforts have enhanced the educational and research capacity of the COPH and UAMS related to minority health and health disparities.

Individuals nominated for the Diversity and Inclusion awards must have contributed to the understanding and value of diversity at UAMS and the campus environment or in the larger community through the promotion of better cross-cultural relationships. The nominees have demonstrated one or more of the following: commitment to the spirit of diversity through work and action; leadership through positive interactions with persons of diverse backgrounds and points of view; or personal characteristics which foster respect for inclusion of persons within the institution or in the community who are members of traditionally underrepresented groups.

Learn more