ASPPH logo




ASPPH 2018 Riegelman Award Winner Announced for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education

The Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health announces the recipient of the 2018 Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education, Dr. Daniel Gerber, associate dean for academic affairs at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences.

This national award is given to one full-time, undergraduate public health faculty member at a university with a CEPH-accredited school or program of public health, who has made outstanding contributions in the following areas: exemplary efforts to start or sustain a new program; innovative teaching techniques using advanced technology; relationships with practice partners in the community; collaboration with other disciplines; and relationships with graduate programs in public health.

Dr. Gerber was responsible for creating the BS in Public Health Sciences (PHS) in the School of Public Health and Health Sciences (SPHHS) at UMass Amherst in 2006. Under his leadership it has grown from 25 students in 2017 to one of the biggest and most rapidly growing majors on campus with over 800 students in 2017. Dr. Gerber is not only the administrator of the program, but also a highly innovative instructor. One of his nominators wrote “Dr. Gerber has created a strong academic program and has changed the lives of many. He truly goes above and beyond his duties as associate dean to support and mentor students. Our school would not be what it is today without him. Dr. Gerber embodies the essence of the Riegelman Award.”

Dr. Gerber will be recognized at the luncheon during the Undergraduate Public Health and Global Health Education Summit on Wednesday, March 7.