ASPPH logo




2018 ASPPH Sections Retreat

This week, the 2018 ASPPH Sections Retreat was held at the Brown Hotel in Louisville, KY. The retreat included five tracks: academic affairs, academic public health practice, finance and administration, research, and student services leadership. Attendees participated in a plenary session as well as topic sessions specific to each track. There were 173 attendees at this year’s retreat representing 74 ASPPH-member CEPH-accredited schools and programs of public health and two associate-members.

The meeting started on Wednesday, June 20 with welcome and introductions from Dr. Laura Magana, ASPPH president and CEO, and Dean Donna Petersen, University of South Florida College of Public Health and ASPPH board chair, followed by an opening plenary session on Zero Tolerance for Harassment and Discrimination: The Role of Academic Public Health moderated by Dean Perry Halkitis, Rutgers University School of Public Health with panelists: Dr. Linda Alexander, associate dean for academic affairs, West Virginia University School of Public Health and Dr. Kauline Cipriani, assistant dean for inclusive excellence, University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health.

On Thursday morning Mr. Tony Mazzaschi, ASPPH senior director of policy and research, gave an update on Policy, Advocacy and the Mission of Academic Public Health covering current issues on immigration and appropriations. Mr. Greg Fischer, mayor of Louisville, Kentucky also joined the meeting and gave remarks on local government’s role on improving the health of its citizens.

Attendees covered a wide range of topics during concurrent sessions for each track – full agendas are available on the retreat event page.

The planning committee included representatives from each track: Dr. Viviana Horigian (Miami), Dr. Rob Pack (East Tennessee), and Dr. Douglas Taren (Arizona) for academic affairs; Harold Cox (BU) for academic public health practice; Mr. Sean DeBoer (Drexel), Ms. Karen Ervin (East Tennessee) and Ms. Deanna Debus (Oklahoma) for finance and administration; Dr. Bernadette Boden-Albala (NYU) for research; and Dr. Kara Robinson (Emory) and Dr. Julie Avina (NYU) for student services leadership.

Many thanks to the planning committee and discussion leaders for their efforts in making this year’s retreat a great success.