ASPPH logo




2017 ASPPH Annual Meeting Highlights

The 2017 ASPPH Annual Meeting took place last week, March 15-17, at the Crystal Gateway Marriott in Arlington, VA. Thank you to all attendees, moderators, presenters, and our planning committee for helping make the event a great success.

The meeting kicked-off on Wednesday afternoon, March 15 with committee, forum and business meetings plus an ASPPH Data Center skill-building workshop.

Addressing the Challenges of Health Equity: What is the Role of Public Health?

[Photo: Dr. Helene Gayle (left) and Dean Lynn Goldman (right)]

Dr. Helene Gayle, CEO of the McKinsey Social Initiative, highlighted the opening plenary session on Thursday, by engaging in a conversation with program committee co-chair Dr. Lynn Goldman (George Washington). Dr. Gayle discussed the forces and mentors who helped shape her career. She also discussed the goals of the McKinsey Social Initiative, a nonprofit organization that implements programs that bring together varied stakeholders to address complex global social challenges. She discussed their initial project intended to connecting one million young people in India, Kenya, Mexico, Spain, and the United States with skills and jobs in the next five years. She concluded by reassuring current public health students about the value of their training and the important role they can play in shaping the future, regardless of the policies of any given Administration.

Notes From the Field: Doing Time in Education

[Photo: Ms. Anna Deavere Smith (center), with ASPPH members]

Esteemed actress, playwright, social commentator, Ms. Anna Deavere Smith, performed excerpts from her critically-acclaimed off-Broadway production Notes From the Field: Doing Time in Education at the Friday morning plenary.  Based on more than 250 interviews, Ms. Deavere Smith depicted almost a dozen interview subjects, weaving the personal accounts of students, parents, teachers and administrators into a powerful narrative about  educational and justice systems that push minors from poor communities out of the classroom and into incarceration, creating a lost generation of American youth. Her riveting performance was followed by a discussion session on the implications of the systems Ms. Deavere Smith described on the missions of academic public health.

[Photo: (left to right) Dr. Deborah McFarland, Dr. Stephanie Wheeler, Ms. Mary Murphy-Phillips, and Dr. Jessica Leibler]

ASPPH Awards

Dr. Deborah McFarland, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health

Dr. Deanna Hoelscher, University of Texas School of Public Health (not pictured)

Dr. Stephanie Wheeler, University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dr. Jessica Leibler, Boston University School of Public Health

Ms. Mary Murphy-Phillips, Boston University School of Public Health

[Dr. Alfred Sommer (2015 recipient) presenting the Welch-Rose Award]


Dr. Harrison Spencer, Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (awarded posthumously) [Read our tribute]

Riegelman Award

Lauren Arnold, Saint Louis University College for Public Health and Social Justice